Top Ten Favorite Books From the Fantasy Genre

img_2401

So here I am to do my first Top Ten Tuesday post, and I’m super excited!!!  My X genre is quite obviously fantasy ( or maybe not quite so obviously because I’ve been doing this for what, a week now? ) and I’m sure there are plenty of reasons why you may or may not agree with fantasy being the absolute best genre out there, but that’s a list to  make for a different day.

Instead of having my list go 1-10, I’ve decided to go backwards and do my list 10-1, because if I didn’t do something that is slightly rebellious then really I wouldn’t be me.*  There is a method to my madness, though, because I am nothing if not an organized ball of cute chaos.

( Or just cute chaos.  Yeah, that’s it!  I’m cute chaos. )

This is not just a list of my top ten favorite books from the fantasy genre, oh no!  This is a list of my top nine favorite fantasies that I’ve read so far in my life**, leading up to my number one book of all time, which just so happens to be a fantasy!  Aren’t you excited?!  ( I am!!! )

* It’s always the quiet ones, isn’t it?

**  The first nine books are subject to change over time because I’m a very indecisive person.

fullsizerender-5

Because I’m short on time, I’m just going to give one reason I love each of these books, though there are many, until I get to book #1.

10. The Crowfield Curse by Pat Walsh

The whole theme of this book is just wonderful.  I know, that’s a ton of information, but spoilers, I don’t want to give any out.  Just trust me and go read it.  You’ll see what I mean.

 

9. The Great Good Thing by Roderick Townley

This book is set inside of a book.  That’s all I need to say.

 

8. Incarceron by Catherine Fisher

The prison is so creative and it really feels big.  Sometimes your told a setting is really large but then the way the author writes about it makes it feel small.  This was not the case  in Incarceron.  If anything, the prison felt much bigger than was described, so that was A+.

 

7. The Ghost Prison by Joseph Delaney

The reason I love this book ( or short story really ) is because of how haunted I felt at the end of it.  It’s really indescribable.  Even to this day, when I think of how it ended, and how the ending was written, it gives me that haunted feeling again.  Not scared, haunted.

 

6. The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke

Orphans and Venice and masks and magic carousels!!!  This book was a perfect mix of them all, and I just so happen to have an affinity for all of those things so I was bound to enjoy this book.

 

5. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

I love the setting, I love the ghostly feel, but what really caught my attention was the format of this book.  It’s a bunch of short stories that at first may appear to just be stories for the sake of being stories, but then they all connect in the end!  I found this intriguing and exciting.

 

4. Tyger Tyger by Kersten Hamilton

Irish Mythology.  Number one reason why I love this book and the rest of the series.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the Greek and Roman myths, but they are so overused.  The Irish culture is my favorite foreign culture, mostly because of fairies and magic, so I was so happy to find books that used Irish Mythology.

 

3. The House of Many Ways by Diana Wynne Jones

The house itself is awesome.  Reality / space / time jumping?  Say just one of those and I’m all in.  Oh, and Calcifer.  He’s one of my favorite charters ever, though there isn’t much of him in this book.

 

2. A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

Reality jumping, hello!  It’s so effortless and so captivating at the same time in this book.  It makes it feel so natural, and I think that can be a real struggle when it comes to writing a plot dealing with multiple worlds / versions of reality.

 

1. The Slow Regard of Silent Things by Patrick Rothfuss

I love this book for a few reasons.

a) It’s just a story for the sake of being a story.  How often do you see that?  Not very.  No plot, no purpose, just a story.  I  need more stories like this one

b) The setting is marvelous.  If you have not read this book then I don’t want to give anything away, but let’s just say that I would be happy to spend the rest of my life living where Auri lives, never having to come into contact with people unless I wanted to ( because people can be stressful in real life, as much as I love them ).

c) You don’t have to read the rest of the series to read this book!  Yes, this book is a side story from “The Kingkiller Chronicles”, but I haven’t read any of the actual novels ( yet ) and the story was still wonderful.

But while all this is great, none of it is the true reason this book is my number one book of all time.

Auri is the reason this book can never be topped.  The way she looks at things, how she thinks, feeling when objects and things are in their proper spot, like she can feel the balance of the universe around her, and she strives to keep that balance held up.  It’s like her intuition can see through the upper layer of this world, into how everything really works and lines up.

I read this book and thought, “Oh, it’s in words.”

Because I never would have thought that anybody else sees the world the way I do.

Em

Let’s Chat!

Have you read any of the books listed above?  Are any of them your favorites too?   Have you ever read a book that really “clicked” with you and can never be topped by any other book?  Link me to your TTT post in your comment! 

22 responses to “Top Ten Favorite Books From the Fantasy Genre

  1. wow! i’ve only read one of these books (A Darker Shade of Magic) so thank you for a great list to go through and add to my TBR! I love the sounds of Tyger, Tyger. I love books that have mythology as a huge part of the novel. Have you read Tigers Curse? It is Indian mythology and I really enjoyed it!

    Like

    • Your welcome! I’m glad you like it! :) I haven’t heard of Tigers Curse before. I’m heading over to Goodreads right now to give it a look. Thank you for the suggestion! Books with mythology are some of my favorite, and I haven’t seen any with Indian mythology before, so it’ll be going on my TBR.

      Like

    • Yay for first time TTT! XD Now we can be TTT buddies! I’ve been looking at other people’s TTT lists and thinking that I haven’t read any of the books they listed, either. It’s so hard when there are a ton of wonderful books in the world! How do you chose which one to read next?!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The Slow Regard of Silent Things is wonderful <3 Every sentence, every word made me tingle of excitement. It takes a great mind to write something so exceptionally beautiful like that. Foreword and Endnote <3 Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome to TTT. It’s such a fun meme! And you’ve got some great books listed here. I loved INCARCERON when I read it, but for some reason, I never moved on with the series. I need to go back and re-read it as well as its sequel (sequels?).

    Like

    • Thank you Susan! Gosh, everyone in the book blogging community is just so darn nice! :) Incarceron only has one sequel, and you most certainly should go and read it ( in my opinion ), because it really wrapped up the story nicely.

      Like

    • Yes, I suppose I did make that sound rather confusing. XD Let me explain.

      As far as ‘no plot’ goes, Patrick Rothfuss describes it as ‘the book does not do what a proper book should do’, meaning that it doesn’t actually have a very proper plot. The story really can’t be divided into a beginning, middle and end, and it doesn’t have a proper climax. As far as ‘no purpose’, well, it doesn’t do anything critical to the rest of the series. It’s just Auri’s day to day life and an in-depth exploration of how she thinks. The only reason it exists is not for a purpose, but simply because the author wants it to. No lesson, no reason, just a story. And I think that makes it even more beautiful.

      Hopefully that helped! I hope you do end up reading it, because even without the rest of the series, it’s an amazing to book to hold.

      Like

      • I have often felt that in contrast to the epic, purpose driven stories we read in novels, real life seems disappointing/bland. Maybe this book is a way to avoid that?

        Liked by 1 person

        • For me this book definitely made me appreciate the smallest things in life even more than I did before, so yes, I do think it was a good way to get away from the bland feeling ( I am also glad to hear that I am not the only one who gets that bland feeling ).

          Liked by 1 person

  4. *SHRIEKS* YES YES TO A DARKER SHADE OF MAGIC I LOVE THAT SERIES SO MUCH AHHH!!! And by “love” I mean, it’s absolutely ripping out my heart and eating it like soup and fajdskalfdj I am happy for it to do so but also #pain. *sobs wildly*

    I also actually own the Thief Lord (yyay library sale!) but haven’t read it yet (the shame!) so that should go on my to-do list immediately because it sounds incredible and Cornelia Funke is like one of the building blocks of YA fantasy!😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • Isn’t that the definition of love we use for all the books that we “love” so much? Is there even any other kind of love?! I haven’t found any.

      You should really go read The Thief Lord Cait! I encourage you to do so quite wildly!!! ( Not that you have to read the book wildly, I’m just wildly encouraging you. Though if you want to read wildly too than go for it it’s really the best way to read. )

      Like

  5. I think the only book included in the list that I’m familiar with is Incarceron — which I actually hated. I don’t think it’s because the story was badly written. I just found it difficult to follow and I eventually gave up on trying to understand. But I do agree that the prison was a definite creative touch.

    Anyway, what a wonderful TTT post! Personally, I don’t really join in on memes, but I love reading them from other bloggers. Yours is excellent!

    P.S. In one of my earlier blog posts, I mentioned my intention of visiting every blog that follows me and leaving a little comment love as a small expression of my gratitude. Having said that, I personally want to thank you for being a part of my readership. You are incredibly wonderful, and your support means more to me than you realize! 😊💕

    Like

Leave a Reply

