The Kill Order

So this was my first-ish audiobook listen ever.  The -ish part comes from the fact that I have listened to Rick Riordan read his three Percy Jackson/Kane Chronicles crossovers, but that was out of need, not want.  And aside from those three short stories, I have never actually listened to an audiobook.

And I mean never ever listened to an audiobook.

And after this one, I have to ask myself: “Why not?”  Because I did enjoy it, much to my surprise.

One Reason I though I wouldn’t Like Audiobooks

Some people have really annoying voices.  I’m sorry, but it’s true!  At least, they might not actually have annoying voices when they just talk normally, but when you try to change the pitch and overall sound of your voice to fit a character, and it just doesn’t work out, then it’s very annoying, to me, anyways.

But, I found that Mark Deakins, the voice actor for “The Kill Order”, was wonderful at reading this story!  There are some audio books I was looking into listening to that I didn’t end up listening to because of the above mentioned reason, but I think I was very wrong in assuming that all audiobooks weren’t going to be to my liking.

fullsizerender-46

Somethings I Liked

  • The use of flashbacks was good.

This was a very important part of the book.  Without the flashbacks, the story wouldn’t have had half the depth as it did.  I found the flashbacks weren’t just interesting and added to the story, but that they were also very realistic.  Some flashbacks pop at strange and even ridiculous times: but not in this story.  They were perfectly timed and, as I said, greatly added to the story.

  • It was a very good pre-story.

After reading The Mazerunner Trilogy, I found this to be a very, very good prequel to the series.  It wasn’t boring or unimportant to the rest of the series.  It gave good information leading up to the series, and I think it could be read either before or after the rest of the series; though in retrospect I think I thoroughly enjoyed it after I’d already read the series, because that way the element of the unknown that is present in the series itself wasn’t ruined by the detailed explanation in the prequel.

  • The voice acting was great.

Like I said, Mark Deakins was wonderful at reading this story.  And I think that is a very important part of an audiobook.  After all, you’re going to be listening to a story for around 10 hours or so, then I think you need to like the voice that’s reading it.  Mark Deakins did a great job at acting out the characters, and each of his character voices were very recognizable.

  • The character development between Mark and Alec was wonderful.

Throughout the story these two went from survivalist friends to a near father-son relationship.  They certainly made it to an uncle-nephew relationship.  Either way, I thought it was very touching how they continued to grow a family love for each other while still retaining that famous male indifference to saying “I love you.” to anyone other than their best girl.

  • The fight scenes were awesome.

I’ve always liked James Dashner’s fight scenes; and he didn’t disappoint in this book.

Somethings I Didn’t Like

  • There was so much, “understanding”.

Or, rather, a lack of it.  Let me clarify; the questions that were left unanswered till the end of the story added to the story overall.  But how the characters, especially Mark, approached trying to get info from people, was repetitive and eventually annoying.  I lost track of how many times Mark asked, “We just want to understand.”  Well guess what buddy, I want answers too!  ( That’s why I’m listening to this book. )  But there are over 1 million* words in the English language.  Find a different way to word the question.

*Says this probably not sketchy website.

  • My heart broke for Dee Dee.

I cried, ok?!  I couldn’t help it.  I have to congratulate the story on making me feel such strong emotions; I actually extremely enjoy being made to feel strong emotions from reading ( or listening ) to a story.  So this is actually a plus for the book?  But that doesn’t mean I’m going to stop complaining about how she was treated by her own people!

  • My heart broke at the end.

But at the end of what, I will not say, because I don’t like spoilers*.  The end of Dee Dee’s story?  The end of the book?  The end of a loaf of bread**?  Who knows.  But I cried.  Even harder than before.

*So basically I will try very very hard to never give you any, or if I do, I will warn you, so that can avoid them if you want to.

**Why would I be sad about a loaf of bread?  Well if we’re at the end of it, then that means no more sandwiches.

  • Basically, my heart was broken all over the place.

There was so much sadness all. Over. The place.  Which if you’ve read the rest of the series, isn’t really all that shocking.  It basically revolves around despair and death and doom.  But that doesn’t mean I liked being left in a ball of sadness and despair all over again*.  It was hard.  It’s still hard.  Basically this book was all very hard.

*But I actually do like being left in a ball of sadness?!  It feels great when a book rips your heart out; that means that it’s actually a very good book.  Yet it’s hard when you feel so sad, so I don’t like it?  But I do like it?!  Clearly I don’t KNOW anymore?!?!

Some Neutral Things

  • It was a good book for an audiobook.

I’ve heard that some books are hard to follow when listening to, but this one wasn’t, especially after having read the series first.

  • The crazy tribal people reminded me of the crazy White Legs.

In retrospect, the Cranks from the rest of the series also reminded me of the ghouls from “Fallout: New Vegas”.  Who else has played that game?  Come on, I can’t be the only one to have played that game and read these books, and made a connection between them.  Right?

Overall, I really enjoyed this listening to this audiobook.  It was great to listen to it while doing other things instead of listening to music all the time.  Listening to this book allowed me to ‘read’ another story that I otherwise wouldn’t have had time for.  I will be listening to more audiobooks in the future, for sure.  Recommendations, anyone?

Em

Let’s Chat!

Have you read “The Kill Order”?  What did you think of it?  Have you ever listened to an audiobook; and what do you think of them?  And what about all that sadness?!  Do you also have a love-hate relationship with having a book rip your heart out over and over again?

Leave a Reply

