10 Books That I Should Have Read by Now But Haven’t

Do you know that feeling you get when everyone around you is reading a really, REALLY awesome book and they’re all talking about it and having a great time with it and even bonding over it, for goodness sake, and all the while you’re just sitting there on the sidelines looking at them ruefully because you haven’t read it YET?!

Well this is what generally happens to me when I get book recommendations.

You see I may be a book worm rabbit but I am a book rabbit* of procrastination.

You see, I have lot’s of books that I want need to read, and as a result, I often end up behind the pack when it comes new/popular/everyone-else-has-read-this books.  And as a result of me not having read these books that everyone else loves, guess what sort of books get recommended to me all the time?!

*Because book worm is too mainstream ( and rabbits are cute and disastrous like me ).  Or perhaps I should be a book fairy?  A book dragon?  A book maven?!  Who knows?  I’ll change it as the whim catches me.  Today it is rabbit, so rabbit it shall be.

jpeg-image-77495c47d030-1

This is an actual photo of some of my book rabbits ( and a frog; because he’s always there, for some reason ).  Though they’re definitely not drinking tequila that’s fruit punch lemonade.

Ok maybe it’s tequila.

Anyways, today’s Top Ten Tuesday is all about books that have been recommend to you; but I’m going one step further by not only listing recommend books that I haven’t read yet, but by also letting YOU choose which one of those books I should be reading next.

That’s right everyone.  The fate of my next read is in YOUR hands.

I trust you guys though, I’m not worried at all.  Honestly.  We book worms/rabbits/dragons/whatever-the-heck-you-feel-like-being know each other pretty well.  You’ll choose well for me.

So here’s how this is going to work:  I will list 10 books of my choosing that I haven’t read yet; then, in the comments, YOU will tell me which one of those books you think I should put at the top of my TBR and read next before I read anything else.

But!  There are some rules!

1) You may only vote for 2 books!  Because if you recommend that I should read all 10 of the books next well then that doesn’t really help me decide which 1 of the 10 I should read next, do you see?  Of course you do, you’re very intelligent, I have no doubts.

2) Voting is open until October 20th.  So make sure you and your friends shout your opinions before the voting closes!

3)  All the people who voted for the winning book will get a shoutout when I post it’s review!!!  That’s right, as a thank you for helping me choose which one of these lovely books to read next, I’ll help you back by giving all the voters of the winning book a special shoutout on the chosen book’s review post.

The Books

 

  • “Six of Crows” by Leigh Bardugo

  • “Throne of Glass” by Sarah J. Mass

  • “The Girls” by Emma Cline

  • “Holding Up the Universe” by Jennifer Niven

  • “Cinder” by Marissa Meyer

  • “The Scorpio Races” by Maggie Stiefvater

  • “The Wrath and the Dawn” by Renee Ahdieh

  • “The Impostor Queen” by Sarah Fine

  • “The Beginning of Everything” by Robyn Schneider

  • “Legend” by Marie Lu

There they are folks!  Now vote!  And spread the word to have others vote, too!!!

Em  :)

10 responses to “10 Books That I Should Have Read by Now But Haven’t

    • Thank you so much!!! :) I really appreciate the compliment, and the votes! If enough people participate, then I’ll turn this into a monthly post and shoutout. I was actually worried no one would vote; I don’t have too many readers yet. 😅 So thank you for the confidence booster. :)

      Like

  1. Six of Crows is my top pick, then Throne of Glass! Those are the first books in two of my top favorite series.

    Like

  2. I am ALWAYS behind the trends when it comes to books, but since I’m also out of touch with popular music and fashion, it kind of all fits together… ;)

    I vote for “The Wrath and the Dawn” by Renee Ahdieh and “Six of Crows” by Leigh Bardugo, but that’s a pretty strong list of awesome books. :)

    Like

    • My life fits together like that too. My trend is being “untrendy”. ;)

      Thanks for the the votes! I know, they are all pretty awesome sounding; that’s why I need help choosing which one to read next. :)

      Like

  3. DUDE YOU HAVE TO READ THEM ALL!!! hhahaaha….I’m kidding. Ahem. Okay, I shall be slightly more helpful: THE SCORPIO RACES. *nods* Because Stiefvater. And you must read all the Stiefvater because it’s crucial to, basically, life in general. And then after that you need to devour Six of Crows because there are precious stabby cinnamon rolls in there that need your love. :’)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah stabby cinnamon rolls are the best kind of cinnamon rolls!!! And yes I know I DO have to read them all! And I will, eventually; I do appreciate the help in deicing which one to read first though. Choosing from the deadly TBR is one of the biggest struggles of the book dragon, as you well know. :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

