Throne of Glass

fullsizerender-55

There is nothing about tyrannical kings or queens destroying things and being an all around horrible ruler that I like.

But assassins bent on destroying those rulers?  That comprises my favorite type of fantasy to read.  And that’s what Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas gave me.

It was recommend to me by a friend who was, to be honest, more excited about me reading this book than I was about reading this book; but now that I have finished reading it, I can fully understand why she loves this books so much.

We have a main character who has some sort of super tragic backstory that we don’t know a ton about right now.  She’s young, small framed and short, and just so happens to be the countries most infamous assassin.  So aside from the fact that short people clearly make the best assassins ( note: this really isn’t a fact but i’m going to state it anyways because I’m short too ), we also have a seeming sweet young girl who at first glance doesn’t seem like an assassin actually being the most feared person in the land.  This my favorite trope; also because I am a small sweet girl who no one suspects of anything but innocence*.

Aside from this favorite trope of mine though, there were plenty of other things to love.  Shall I go over them?  Yes, I shall; so without further ado, and in no particular order ( because my brain is currently unable to make order out of anything ), I will tell you what I loved most about this book ( without any spoilers ).

*HAHAHAHAHAHA

fullsizerender-54

Good Things

I loved the slight mention of magic.  I will always beg and wish and sell my first baked cookie for there to be more magic in stories; but I have to admit that way magic was used in this book was just perfect for the way the world was set up.  It was also very interesting. I want there to more explanation of how things were before all the magic was destroyed; and why it was destroyed, for that matter.  But for now Sarah J. Maas has given us just enough of a taste to have us coming back for more.

Speaking of how the world is set up, let’s talk about world building, because I loved how it was done in here.  If I’m being honest, there wasn’t anything that jumped out at me and screamed “THIS INVOLVED MAJOR WORLD BUILDING”.  But for me, this isn’t always a negative thing, as long at the way the book is written is done properly.  There was world building, don’t get me wrong; but for the parts where there seemed like maybe there wasn’t as much world building, I didn’t really feel the lack of it.  Instead it felt like I was already a part of that world, and didn’t need a long explanation of things.  This closeness to the world brought me closer to the story.

Celaena was properly portrayed.  I don’t like it when the main character is portrayed as being super awesome and immune to being human; or when girls are only strong when they don’t like girly things.   Our assassin is neither of these things.  Her physical weakness are included and realistic.  And she likes her pretty dresses just as much as she likes her sharp knives.

The character relationships were really nice.  Wether it was an uncertain friendship or one of the two budding romances that are present in these pages, everyone grew as individuals and grew their relationships with others really nicely.

Celaena’s resourcefulness was very interesting and fun to read about.  The way she handled people, the competition, and her makeshift weapons were pure survivalists instincts; and I love that.

To summarize the storyline and pace; both were good.  The story was slightly predictable at times but the pacing kept things interesting anyways.  It wasn’t slow, yet it didn’t go so fast that it felt like something was missing.

Less Good Things

The king, obviously.  He offers the perfect man for Celaena to fight against and free the land from his rule; but that doesn’t mean I have to like him ( or the weasels closest to him ).

Sometimes Celaena felt a bit, well, rude.  This isn’t to say that she was supposed to be nice everyone; on the contrary, I think she should have been a bit more deceptive in her niceness.  The whole point of her position was to stay alive, right?  Yet there were times when she let her bravado get the better of her instead of perhaps, I don’t know, lying to stay alive?  And this nearly got her in major trouble a few times.  Come on girl.  It’s not so hard to pacify someone up front to stay out of trouble and then stab them in the back anyways.  I was mildly annoyed by this.

This is completely my fault, but how on Earth do you pronounce Celaena?!  I might just be slow or something but seriously I just couldn’t figure it out.  And it does bother me a bit to read through a whole book without actually knowing how to say the main character’s name in my head.  ( Can anyone help me? )

A Couple of Random Things

Random Thing Number One: I had the pleasure of being able to shout “I KNEW IT!” at the end of the book.  Though I won’t tell you why because I promised no spoilers.  Just know that you should read this book ( if you haven’t decided to already ) because you will probably have the great satisfaction of shouting in victory too.

Random Thing Number Two: I can safely say that I would win a game of pool against Adarlan’s greatest assassin; and if this doesn’t constitute bragging rights then I don’t know what will.

fullsizerender-56

Overall, this book was a good fantasy read that has me wanting the rest of the series right now.  And so far, I have not noticed any plot holes; this a good thing, as plot holes seem to come up more often in fantasy books than other books ( is this just me or do you guys notice this too? ).

★★★★  4 Star Rating

Em

Let’s chat!

Who else has read ToG?  What did you think of the trope; and what is your favorite trope overall?  If you haven’t read ToG yet, have I convinced you?  ( I should have, despite the randomness of this review. )  Most importantly, who else can say that they can beat an assassin at something?!  ( Even if it’s just pool. )  I’m sure there’s more of us; so let’s band together and share bragging rights.  :)

2 responses to “Throne of Glass

  1. Throne of Glass is one of my favs. The story takes a very different turn in the second and third books to what I was expecting but I’m sure you’ll still enjoy them. I pronounce Celaena as Sell-ay-na but that might just be me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

