Top Ten Books I Want To Read Right Now

fullsizerender-58

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday prompt is all about books that you have recently added to your TBR*.  It was inspired by Jamie’s “New To the Queue” posts.  I am all at once happy for such a simple prompt to write about today and in awe of _ courage.  Sure, this might be a simple type of post to do, but to be constantly posting about all the books you’re adding to your TBR; well that’s just terrifying.

I mean, just think about it.  We already know that as life long book lovers we are never going to be able to read every last one of the books we add to our TBR; mostly because we will always be adding books to our TBR and our lifespans are not infinite.  This fact alone is  saddening in itself.

But unknown to most non-readers is the fact that the TBR can be frightening.  One day you turn around and that pile of books that you know you’ll never finish reading suddenly starts staring at you.  Glaring at you.  Judging you for not having read them yet.  After that day comes each book you add to your TBR is placed upon it with trepidation and a tinge of anxiety.

The TBR can, at times, be a looming monster sitting in the shadows.  Every time you add a book to it, it grows.  And let’s be honest here, we all know that we add more books to it then we read books from it; so that means that it’s always growing, at some pace.  So to constantly be posting about the books you’re adding to your TBR and therefore constantly reminding yourself of said TBR growth?

That takes courage.  And I have to give Jamie a song of praise for having such courage.

In light of how Jamie manages to have this courage on a semi-monthly basis, I think we can all handle having such courage for one day to fulfill this TTT prompt.  So here it goes; I’m just going to jump right into this post and give myself some candy and tea at the end of it as reward for surviving.

fullsizerender-59

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

This book, along with The Scorpio Races, was chosen for me to read last month by people reading my blog.  Both are going to be read by the end of the month.

Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab

As a sequel to a book that I really, really loved, of course this book ended up on my TBR; and as soon as it comes out, it’ll be eaten up.

The Hike by Drew Magary

This does not seem like the sort of book I would normally read.  But hiking is something that I love to do all the time.  So when I saw what might be a funny take on a hiking trip, I wanted to read it.

The Dark Army by Joseph Delaney

I loved the Last Apprentice Series, and so far I love this new trilogy by Joseph Delaney as well.  This book has been on my TBR for over a year; I’m excited to finally be getting to it soon.

Orphans of the Carnival by Carol Birch

A carnival, orphans, and a victorian setting?  Sign me up for this book, please.

Vial Things by Leah Clifford

Not quite sure what drew me to this book; the cover or the play on words title.  Either way, I have to find a way to get to this book, because my library doesn’t have it for some reason.

Sunday’s on the Phone to Monday by Christine Reilly

I noticed this book after the lovely author followed my Instagram account.  I was super excited to have an author following me, and now I’m super excited to read this book.

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

Aside from the stunning cover, the storyline of this book sounds enchanting.

Ghostland: An American History in Haunted Places by Colin Dickey

I love ghosts.  And I love ghosts stories.  So of course I’m going to want to read a book all about American ghost stories.  Maybe I’ll go hunting for some myself.

Light Boxes by Shane Jones

Waging war against a perpetual February with a fable like feel?  Tell me you don’t want to read this book.  I won’t believe you.

jpeg-image-ef22ea801cfd-1

Ah, there it is.  My candy and tea, just I like said.  I hope you all were able to make it through this TTT.  If you have, than you should go reward yourself just like I have, with whatever sweet treat or wetting drink you favor most.  I send you best wishes in the ever lasting battle of the TBR; and link me to your TTT in your comments!

Em

Let’s Chat!

How terrifying do you find your TBR?  I’m mean it can get pretty scary at times, am I right?  I think Jamie should get some sort of bravery award; what do you think?  And are any of these books on your TBR?  ( Or have you read any of them yet? )

8 responses to “Top Ten Books I Want To Read Right Now

  1. My tbr is shocking at the moment-over 900 books that I physically own or have on ereader and yes, they do seem to glare at me and judge me! I just can’t resist that shiny new book and the dreaded mega book splurge…yes I’m weak! But I blame the authors for writing so many great sounding books!

    Like

    • I won’t judge! I have too many books to count, so I don’t even bother trying to figure out how big my TBR actually is. XD It’s most certainly the authors fault through. They’re trapping us with all the good books they write.

      Like

  2. I’m glad I don’t actually have a TBR pile…I just put lots of holds on books at the library, and if I don’t end up reading them, no harm done, I can always request them again! My apartment is much too teeny tiny for a physical pile! :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

